It all started when...

The Capilano Review was founded in 1972 by Pierre Coupey at Capilano College in North Vancouver. Since then editors have included Bill Schermbrucker, Ann Rosenberg, Dorothy Jantzen, Bob Sherrin, Ryan Knighton, Sharon Thesen, Jenny Penberthy, and Brook Houglum. In 2015, the magazine parted from Capilano University and set up as an independent magazine in Vancouver under the editorship of Andrea Actis, and now Catriona Strang.

TCR has a long history of welcoming writers-in-residence among them Fred Moten, Dodie Bellamy and Kevin Killian, Cole Swensen, Bhanu Kapil, and many more. Throughout each year, we host launches of our new issues, readings, workshops, talks, panels. 

Our contributors have been well represented among the Griffin Poetry Prize nominees and winners – Liz Howard, Ken Babstock, Dionne Brand, Christian Bök, George Bowering, Erìn Moure, August Kleinzahler, Sylvia Legris, Robin Blaser, Roo Borson, Di Brandt, Robert Bringhurst, Alice Notley, Nicole Brossard, Robert Majzels, David McFadden, Don McKay.

Governor General’s Literary Awards nominees and winners include TCR contributors Sina Queyras, Dionne Brand, Michael Ondaatje, George Elliott Clarke, Roo Borson, Sachiko Murakami, Sharon Thesen, George Bowering, Don McKay, Ken Babstock, Erìn Moure, Tom Wayman, Colin Browne, and many more.

The Dorothy Livesay Poetry Prize, one of the annual BC Book Prizes, has also included amongst its nominees and winners many TCR contributors: Jordan Abel, Cecily Nicholson, Roger Farr, Renée Sarojini Saklikar, Colin Browne, Wayde Compton, Meredith Quartermain, Jeff Derksen, Steve Collis, Ken Belford, Fred Wah, Larissa Lai, Daphne Marlatt, George Stanley, Sharon Thesen, Rita Wong, and many more.

Since 1978 we’ve won numerous awards for excellence: eight gold and silver awards for fiction and poetry from The National Magazine Foundation, one Journey Prize, two Western Magazine Awards, and one Association for Canadian Studies Award of Merit in recognition of outstanding contributions to the development of Canadian Studies.