10th Annual Robin Blaser Poetry Contest Winner

We’re pleased to announce that Jim Johnstone‘s visual poem “Site Specific Excitation” has been selected by our Judge Jordan Abel as the winner of our 10th annual Robin Blaser Poetry Award. Thank you to all the entrants and congratulations to Jim!

Judge Honourable Mentions and TCR editorial Staff Picks include 

Wanda J. Kehewin for “The Last Time”

Matthew Gwathmey for “Looping Climate”

JR Carpenter for “The Pleasure of the Coast”

Kevin Irie for “Outing Whitman”

“I’m not so much interested in the poetic as I am interested in providing space for work that does not fit easily anywhere else. I am interested in the work that occupies the interstitial spaces between genres, between forms—writing that is explosive, resistant, and uneasily categorized.”

– Jordan Abel


Look forward to reading the winner’s work in our upcoming Issue 3.44 (Spring 2021).

JIM JOHNSTONE is a Toronto-based poet, editor, and critic. His sixth book of poetry, Infinity Network, will be published by Véhicule Press in 2022.

Never miss an issue

Get a subscription to three issues per year. Cancel anytime.

Donate to TCR

Support one of Canada's longest-standing publishers of contemporary writing and art

Advertise in TCR

Download our media kit to find pricing and specifications